People often wonder how a person starts writing.

“Have you always done it?”

“Do you feel passionate about it?”

“Is it something you want to do for the rest of your life?”

Some people write since they were little. Some others have something to say and decide to find a way to express themselves. Some even do it to scratch “writing a book” from their to-do list. And some do it to become successful. There are many answers depending who you’re asking, but if you asked me, I can tell you how reading pushed me into writing.

When I was younger I read a lot. Classic books like Little Women and Treasure Island decorated my shelves, along with comic books like Archie and Japanese Manga. Sadly, little by little, I lost touch with reading when other interests were discovered, namely boys. Many things happened in my life and suddenly I was in my early twenties working with teenagers and without reading anything but things for school, work or from CosmoGirl. I hardly believe it myself.

Then rumors started with the teens around me. Rumors about a romantic paranormal movie that “everyone” talked about and wanted to see: Twilight. Adults were scandalized and concerned about the possible content of the plot, since some of the characters were vampires. I felt so bad for those girls. They were trying to convince every adult in their lives that there wasn’t anything wrong or “demonic” (as their school’s principal suggested) about the story. There was no surprise when I decided to see the movie and give them a break. I’ve always had a soft spot for misunderstood teenagers.

5b4888fcef0f8a1e_twilight-for-bookAnd so I did.

I saw the movie and informed all adults how I thought the movie was completely harmless for the youngsters. Soon, it wasn’t only about the movie. Adults wanted to know about the book. Maybe the movie adaptation was fine, but what if they wanted to read the book? Needless if to say I read the book… all the books.

I didn’t notice how happy I was from reading again until I started discussing the books with the people around me. It was after reading the saga that I started visiting Barnes and Noble again. The mother base was calling me back home. Young Adult, Romance, Paranormal, New Adult, … so many different things appealed to me. Thanks to those teenagers I remembered what it was to read again and how much I truly enjoyed it.

I love to read. I could do it all day every day.

About a year after I got reunited with reading, I rediscovered another passion of mine: storytelling. When I was a teenager myself I entertained my friends with anecdotes, stories and even my crazy dreams. When I lived overseas and in other countries I used to write emails, letters and diaries to my family and friends of my adventures. That’s when it hit me. I have so much to say. I have so much to share. Now I know what the next step is.

 

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.
─ Benjamin Franklin

May 3, how it all started 01

My writing started from my love of reading.

Add your email to my list to get updates on my writing, art and some other exclusive material about the first book I’ll publish: The Bridesmaid Checklist.

Hope to hear from you,

K.T. Castle

kt logo small

 

3 thoughts on “How It All Started

Leave a Reply

